Dr. Elliott B. Black, III

Dr. Summer Black

Board-Certified Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeons

Questions? 504-603-3600

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dr. Black Plastic Surgery

Our practice has grown because of our patients' kind referrals and reviews. In this section of the website, we have combined all our reviews in one place for you to read through at your own pace. Our board-certified plastic surgeons, Dr. Elliott and Dr. Summer Black have provided our community with many years of service, and have performed a wide variety of cosmetic surgeries and treatments for the face (facelift, rhinoplasty, BOTOX®, eyelid lift), body (tummy tuck, liposuction, body contouring surgeries), and breast (augmentation, implant revision, breast lift, and breast reductions). The team at Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery was selected for their concern for efficiency and a warm, dedicated attitude. We hope you agree. Many of our current and former patients share their personal stories and plastic surgery journey in this review section of our website.

We always have time to care for a new patient. Learn more about Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery today.

Filter51 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 06, 2017

I've been a patient of Dr Summer Blacks for about 4 years and I would never go anywhere else. I am ALWAYS ecstatic with her work and have had Botox and Restylane filler in my cheeks and lips. Dr Black is not only a total perfectionist but she becomes a friend you feel comfortable confiding in and sharing your life with. I would recommend Dr Black to my own mother....and in fact I did! Now we are both her patients who regularly visit her for all our anti-aging facial perfecting cosmetic work. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2017

Best Dr. by far! - Dr. Black performed a tummy tuck, a breast lift, and a small amount of lipo. I could not be any happier, I am actually glowing these days!!! She is AMAZING from start to finish. I felt more like I was being taken care of by family than just a doctor, from the day of my consultation until my check ups. Her and the entire care staff are just incredible people. This alone would make me... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 24, 2017

This review only contains a rating More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 14, 2017

61 Year Old with Breast Implants Since 1994 - Metairie, LA - Dr. Summer Black is wonderful. Very kind, very caring. Spent time explaining the procedure and I actually made another appointment because I still had some questions/concerns. I was not rushed, she was very patient and answered all my questions. I have seen her twice now after my surgery and we are both happy with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 16, 2017

Wonderful results, Excellent doctor, Friendly staff - I LOVED my experience with Dr. Summer Black. I'm a 41 yr. old African American female and I got Restylane injections to fill in my nasolabial folds and marionette lines (laugh lines). The results look very natural and I am beyond pleased! Dr. Summer Black is so attentive to what your desired results are and she didn't make me feel like she was rushed. Her personality is also very down to... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 23, 2017

I had the best experience - Dr. Black was very welcoming and approachable. She answered all my questions beforehand and made sure I was comfortable and understood my procedures. She went above and beyond my expectations and I would highly recommend her for any cosmetic procedure! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 09, 2017

Dr. Summer Black is truly amazing. She is caring, experienced, smart and a great doctor. I have had laser, fillers and Botox services by her and was highly pleased with all results. Her staff is equally amazing. A highly trusted older friend recommended me to Dr. Black and I am so glad she did. I now recommend Dr. Summer Black to my good friends with outmost assurance. I can't speak enough of my experience and happiness of finding Dr. Black and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 09, 2017

Dr. Summer Black is truly amazing. She is caring, experienced, smart and a great doctor. I have had laser, fillers and Botox services by her and was highly pleased with all results. Her staff is equally amazing. A highly trusted older friend recommended me to Dr. Black and I am so glad she did. I now recommend Dr. Summer Black to my good friends with outmost assurance. I can't speak enough of my experience and happiness of finding Dr. Black and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 15, 2017

Amazing experience - Dr. Summer Black performed implant removal and lift on me(47). Initially I was going to get new implants. After meeting with Dr. Black a few times we discussed not putting new implants in. I was very nervous and was unsure how I would look. Would I be left with sagging /unattractive breasts. She was very intuned to my concerns. Now 5 months later I couldn't be happier!!! I would highly... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 01, 2017

Dr Summer Black and an amazing experience with SculpSure - I am a 42 yo woman and I just had my first SculpSure treatment on my lower abdomen. Dr Summer Black and her staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. I am extremely pleased with the procedure despite not seeing results yet. It was quick and much less painful than I had anticipated. I would definitely recommend Dr Black and would consider this practice for any future... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 01, 2017

Dr Summer Black and an amazing experience with SculpSure - I am a 42 yo woman and I just had my first SculpSure treatment on my lower abdomen. Dr Summer Black and her staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. I am extremely pleased with the procedure despite not seeing results yet. It was quick and much less painful than I had anticipated. I would definitely recommend Dr Black and would consider this practice for any future consultations / procedures. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 22, 2017

Dr Black has done my Botox injections for over a year. She is the first doctor that has customized my injections for my particular needs & she prices Botox per unit injected not per area injected. Also, I have never had to go back for crazy looking eyebrows or for any other unwanted results. I love & trust Dr. Black & I think you will too! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-14
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 12, 2017

Blessed to have found them! - Had my tummy tuck scar revision and lipo with Dr. Summer Black and her father and they both are very attentive to details. I recovered with no problems and actually got on a cruise boat for 7 days literally day 2 post surgery! Great bedside manners and Would meet me after hours if I had any concerns ie my stitches needs removal. Would recommend to everyone who seeks a caring, professional,... - - Had my tummy tuck scar revision and lipo with Dr. Summer Black and her father and they both are very attentive to details. I recovered with no problems and actually got on a cruise boat for 7 days literally day 2 post surgery! Great bedside manners and Would meet me after hours if I had any concerns ie my stitches needs removal. Would recommend to everyone who seeks a caring, professional, and reassuring doctors. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 10, 2017

Dr. Black is professional, knowledgeable and so caring.I could not ask for anything more.Also, her staff is amazing. Everyone in the office is fabulous.I have gotten Botox and IPL laser and loved the results. I feel so safe and confident that I'm in good hands. I would and have recommend Dr. Black highly. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 06, 2017

I had an amazing experience with my breast implant removal!! - Dr. Black was amazing! I am a 60 year old female who had the same breast implants for more than 33 years after the birth of my twins in 1982. My implants had become severely encapsulated (extremely hard and disfigured from scar tissue). They were extremely heavy and causing me a lot of pain. I was sent to Dr. Black by my OB/GYN, who advised the implants needed to be removed due to... - - Dr. Black was amazing! I am a 60 year old female who had the same breast implants for more than 33 years after the birth of my twins in 1982. My implants had become severely encapsulated (extremely hard and disfigured from scar tissue). They were extremely heavy and causing me a lot of pain. I was sent to Dr. Black by my OB/GYN, who advised the implants needed to be removed due to encapsulation/calcification. I had wanted to remove them for a long time, but after they became severely encapsulated, I had no choice. It was the best thing I ever did!!! Dr. Black was extremely meticulous and thorough in her removal of my implants. She advised that I could have a breast lift afterwards to improve the sagging if I wanted, but suggested that I wait 6 months to a year in order to let my breasts revive as much as they could on their own. I didn't think they would revive at all after 33 years, but she was correct. They have revived enough to where I don't look disfigured. My only personal issue remaining is that they are sagging somewhat (which, let's face it, is to be expected in any 60 year old female), but I'm not sure it's enough to make me undergo the breast lift or not. However, it has only been 4 months since my breast explantation. I cannot express how much better I feel. I no longer have any heaviness pulling on my breasts nor am I an in pain. It feels amazing to feel so natural again after 33 years. I learned about the breast explantation fund still available to assist with medical expenses for the removal of breast implants for up to $5,000.00. It has several qualifications that absolutely must be met prior to their approval and rendering any medical funds toward the explantation, but I qualified and received the full $5,000.00 financial assistance, which is only paid directly to the physician. If you are in a situation similar to mine, I highly recommend you look into the fund and strongly urge you to go to Dr. Black for the surgical procedure. I have had absolutely no complications whatsoever and my treatment and healing went exactly as she advised me it would. She was extremely conscientious towards my medical needs and more than willing to assist in any way possible. She saw me on my lunch hours so I would not have to miss work for her visits and immediately responded to every question I had. She continued to call after my surgery to check on me and I have only a very tiny incision under my breast where it cannot be seen. Dr. Black is awesome and I highly recommend her to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2017

The best doctors and service in the entire area.  I love how personable and compassionate these 2 doctors are.  Would not even think of going elsewhere for any services or procedures.  These doctors are the best. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 30, 2017

Wonderful Doctor very caring and professional!! - Doctor Eileen Summer Black is a wonderful doctor. She answered all my questions and concerns as I was suffering from breasts implant illness. After suffering for many years with brain fog, fatigue and joint pain just to name a few of my symptoms. I had Explant surgery and I have been feeling amazing ever since!! I am very happy with the outcome of my procedure. I feel blessed to have such a... - - Doctor Eileen Summer Black is a wonderful doctor. She answered all my questions and concerns as I was suffering from breasts implant illness. After suffering for many years with brain fog, fatigue and joint pain just to name a few of my symptoms. I had Explant surgery and I have been feeling amazing ever since!! I am very happy with the outcome of my procedure. I feel blessed to have such a wonderful caring doctor!! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from G.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 17, 2017

33 Years Old 3 Kids Acne Scaring and Breakouts and Brown Spots from Sun Damage - Dr. Summer is amazing she is so caring for her patients and truly does the best treatment possible to suit their needs, she is very educated and explains everything to you before proceeding with any treatments. I 100% trust her with my skin needs I know she would not steer me wrong!! I love her and her staff - - Dr. Summer Black recommended this to help with my concerns of acne scarring, which is red marks all around my chin and jaw line. The process that your face goes through weeks following treatment were amazing to see! The brown spots were literally lifted off of my face! The actual treatment was mildly painful, it's an intense burning feeling that disappears as quick as you feel it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 10, 2017

I personally recommend Dr Black to anyone, my experience was so enjoyable. I knew everything that was going to happen before, during and after my breast surgery. He even personally called me for the next 3 days after my surgery to check up on me. I have never experienced the care of his staff and himself like this with any other Dr. Beyond being professional he made the experience personal. And that made a unforgettable experience for me. Thank you so much for being you, Dr Black you rock! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 09, 2017

Just love her ! She is very easy to talk to, she is very honest about what she thinks is best for you, and would never recommend something if she thinks it is not in your best interest !I recommend her to all of my friends ! She does not charge for a consultation ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 09, 2017

He is a wonderful doctor ! Very down to earth, would never recommend a surgery if he didn't think it was in your best interest !Make an appointment for a consultation and see for yourself ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2017

I have been a patient of Dr Summer Black for about 4 years. I will never go anywhere else. After making the rounds to several highly regarded plastic surgeons and being less than satisfied I finally found Dr Black. She is amazing! She's warm, compassionate, authentically interested in you and your life and she is a facial artist extraordinaire! She has been doing my Botox and Filler regularly for years and I am always 100% happy with the results. Her nurse Anna is a doll and also becomes a friend who really cares about you. I would recommend Dr Summer Black to my own mother....and in fact did! We are both her patients who visit her several times a year for all our anti-aging cosmetic needs. If there were 10 stars I would give them to her. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from N.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 14, 2016

Late 40's, Lower Abdomen Issues - Dr. Summer Black did a wonderful job and has been a pleasure to deal with both before and after the procedure. She spent much time both before and after the procedure answering all questions and made me and my family feel very comfortable about the entire process. - - Only weeks out from the procedure, I am already pleased with the results and I am told it will only continue to improve. My scar line is very thin and much better looking than I had anticipated. Dr. Summer Black and all of her staff (particularly Anna) are wonderful to interact with, very caring, and accommodating both before and after the procedure, following my recovery closely. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 02, 2016

Dr. Summer Black is a Master of Doing Natural Looking Work - Metairie, LA - EXCELLENT!! - - Dr. Summer Black is truly a master of doing natural looking work. I have been a patient of Dr. Black's for approximately 8 years, mainly for botox but recently for fillers. She is an artist who studies your face and conservatively does things to make you look better while keeping a natural look. I would not go to anyone else!!! I am a nurse and my husband is a physician and we both trust her immensely. Her bedside manner and follow up are superb. Her office is a pleasure to visit. I have never had to wait and her office manager, Anna, is a true gem. I feel so fortunate to have found her and could not recommend her more! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from N.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 29, 2016

I had a wonderful experience with Dr. Summer Black - Dr. Summer Black made me feel so comfortable! I had a lot of questions about breast lift / reduction and she answered all and my fiance's questions too. Professionalism is a 10! I plan on scheduling my surgery for January. - - Dr. Summer Black made me feel so comfortable! I had a lot of questions about breast lift / reduction and she answered all and my fiance's questions too. Professionalism is a 10! I plan on scheduling my surgery for January. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 23, 2016

50 Year Old Female Post Hysterectomy - Metairie, LA - Even though I know dr black is a very busy woman she has always made me feel like I was her only patient. Her office is also very helpful - - After having a hysterectomy I was very unhappy with the scar tissue which left me with a pooch. I tried a scar revision with a general surgeon and five lazer treatments. Nothing seemed to help. After the surgery with dr black I have my flat stomach back. Actually flatter than before. I am very pleased with my surgery and wish I would have seen her to begin with More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 22, 2016

Another Great Job - Metairie, LA - I have been getting Botox and fillers from Dr Black for four years and love her! She is always very honest and injects just the right amount. She is reasonably priced and refuses to allow people to leave her office looking artificial. She is positive and full of energy and I always enjoy visiting her office. Highly recommended! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 22, 2016

40 Never Been Happy with my Legs - Metairie, LA - Dr. Black made me comfortable from the very beginning. You never see anyone in the office while you are there, so if you want to be private, this is the place to be. The hospital was clean and professional. Her staff is amazing!!! I am so happy with my results and 5 months later I am still seeing improvement. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 05, 2016

Botox - Metairie, LA - Dr Summer Black is the BEST Botox injector! She is consistent with coverage & the outcome is beautiful wrinkle free skin. She customizes the injection locations and amounts based on what she sees my needs are and also my concerns as her patient. (not just the same amount, the same way & on the same 3 or 4 areas as on everyone else) I am so happy with the results! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 15, 2016

Love It! - Metairie, LA - love the results! Dr. Summer was very detailed with my treatment. I look completely natural. It took 5 days to see results, worth the wait. That had been my 1st time to her office, I am going to use her for my Botox for now on. I don't feel I need any other treatment as of now.. But when the next time I'm in need I'll use Dr.Black. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from 0.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2016

3 Weeks Post-Op Breast Reduction - Metairie, LA - Dr. Black was recommended to me by two family members both of whom are happy with their results. Any anxiety that I had about choosing the right plastic surgeon faded the moment I met Dr. Black. She made me feel comfortable like no other doctor ever has. She and her office were very accommodating when my surgery had to be pushed back as well as after the surgery for post-op check ups. Moreover, she is a gifted surgeon who gave me exactly what we discussed. I love my results and will not hesitate to recommend her to friends, family, and strangers alike! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2016

Botox Review - Metairie, LA - Dr. Black is a true professional who makes you feel very comfortable and I always have faith that the results will be perfect. - - Dr. Black is the only medical professional that I would trust with botox. She is an expert at assessing your entire face and body and she determines what the level of botox needed to make you look natural. Often medical professionals "over-botox" and the results are truly unbecoming. She is amazing! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2016

Restylane Review - Metairie, LA - Dr. Black is the best in her industry. I feel confident that she will not "over-do" any procedure. She has before told me that certain procedures were not necessary and I always take her advice. She is a true professional. - - I have a very large scar on my face from an accident and is very painful. Dr. Black filled in the scar, broke up scar-tissue. My scar is less noticeable which makes me feel much more confident. She also filled in my lips and I'm so pleased with the outcome...she didn't over-do my lips, they look very natural. I also had her fill in my nose at the tip on the side and it looks amazing. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 12, 2016

43 Years Old, Wrinkles and Sweating, Stressed out Mother of Three - Metairie, LA - Dr. Black is very friendly and knowledgeable. She arrived on time and was extremely professional. have already referred friends and will continue to go back as long as I can! Thank you for wonderful service! I can't wait for my next appointments:) - - I had two procedures done and both turned out excellent! My first was Botox on my forehead and I was nervous but Dr. Black made me comfortable and at ease. This was my first time so she was very patient with me and helped calm my fears. The second was Botox under my arms for sweating and it has worked wonderfully! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 07, 2016

Perfect Rhynioplasty by a Wonderful Doctor - Metairie, LA - Dr. Black treated me very kindly. She was always available to answer my questions. She is not only very skilled, but highly knowledgable and experienced too! She made me feel comfortable and safe. - - During my consultation, Dr. Black was very patient with my concerns. She confidently explained the procedure in detail, which eased my worries. The office atmosphere is very inviting and relaxing. I felt as though Dr. Black cared about the outcome of my surgery as much as I did (if not more). Dr. Black is extremely knowledgable, helpful, and supportive. I highly recommend her. I am extremely happy with my results. My nose looks wonderful! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 25, 2013

One month post op for mommy makeover - I just adore and respect Dr. Black. She has been so caring, compassionate and an honest doctor. She explained everything to me and let me know what my expectations should be once she looked at me and saw what she had to work with. Makes the procedure a lot easier when you have no hesitation in the selection of your plastic surgeon! - - Went to my three consults and the first doctor I went to and really liked states I will need an incision from hip to hip and a POSSIBLE vertical one from belly button to pubic bone since I have some jiggle horizontally. The other two surgeons said no vertical. Looking at my pic do you think I should question the experience of the doc that wants to do the vertical incision? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 13, 2012

Nicest, kindest doctor ever - I absoluetly love this doctor and his daughter, Dr. Summer as well. They are kind, sincere and caring people. That is not to mention, top notch surgeons as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 12, 2012

Dr. E. Black is a wonderful doctor and very caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 19, 2011

tummy tuck - very good surgery, had twins at my 2nd c section was in bad need of tummy tuck. Dr. Elliot did an excellent job-I am going back to him regarding some minor facial improvements soon. Recommend Dr. Black and his staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 27, 2011

great experience - i went to Dr. Black to replace my old breast implants and go somewhat larger. His office staff is great and the surgery could not have gone better. I now have larger new implants that look and feel great. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 26, 2011

Thomas A Garn Roughneck - Aproximatly 30 yearsr ago Dr. Blackk Reattched the middle finger on my left hand after an oilfield injury. At the time my finger I thought was history the first three doctors that looked at it could not garuantee success. Dr. Black's analysis was "A piece of cake". 29 years later I am retired and getting ready to record my fist CD with a small group of muscians. I sort of feel like I never was able to properly Thank you. I have of you so many times and I have been so gratefull for the blessing of keeping my finger intact and functional. To those concerned this man has a gift from god.If you don't beleive me look for the Halo around his head. Thank you Dr Black More

5.0
Review from JY  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 31, 2017

Love it! Would recommend, and do, all the time! More

5.0
Review from MB  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 27, 2017

Beautiful New Office! Everyone is so accommodating !!!!!! I appreciate your flexibility More

5.0
Review from AA  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 09, 2017

Dr Summer Black is not only my friend now she is hands down the very best at what she does and I have always been 100% happy with my results. Anna is always so warm and kind and I look forward to my appointments. Awesome job! More

5.0
Review from AH  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 24, 2016

I have been going to Dr. Summer Black for botox for the past six months or so. She is the best injector, for instance she customizes the amount of botox per injection point so you never look frozen-just fresh & natural. I promise you won't be disappointed. More

5.0
Review from JK  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 22, 2016

Nurses were great! Very positive experience. More

5.0
Review from LH  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 07, 2016

Dr. Black is the best in the industry! She takes a natural approach to her work, I never look over-done. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 02, 2015

Excellent and caring physician. The best you could ever find. More

5.0
Review from EO  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 06, 2016

Very clean; friendly staff; amazing results More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Oct 28, 2016

I am so glad I had Summer Black as my plastic surgeon. She is so easy to talk to and never tried to push me to do any procedures. You can tell she truly cares about how you're feeling and recovering and she was very easy to get in touch with. I highly recommend her!!! More

5.0
Review from WA  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Oct 16, 2016

Know what the surgery will be and end result! Thanks More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.