Dr. Elliott B. Black, III

Dr. Summer Black

Board-Certified Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeons

Questions? 504-603-3600

Patient Reviews

Top-Rated Reviews for

Our practice has grown because of our patients' kind referrals and reviews. In this section of the website, we have combined all our reviews in one place for you to read through at your own pace. Our board-certified plastic surgeons, Dr. Elliott and Dr. Summer Black have provided our community with many years of service, and have performed a wide variety of cosmetic surgeries and treatments for the face (facelift, rhinoplasty, BOTOX®, eyelid lift), body (tummy tuck, liposuction, body contouring surgeries), and breast (augmentation, implant revision, breast lift, and breast reductions). The team at Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery was selected for their concern for efficiency and a warm, dedicated attitude. We hope you agree. Many of our current and former patients share their personal stories and plastic surgery journey in this review section of our website.

We always have time to care for a new patient. Learn more about Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery today.

Filter38 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

I am amazed at the personal attention and detail given by Dr. Black and the entire staff! It made the whole process of surgery tolerable. I felt extremely comfortable with Dr. Summer and was so very please with the result! Thank you to you and your office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 16, 2019

Dr. Black hands down was the best. She was very attentive to all my questions. The office staff was great as well. I am so Thankful I found her! Thank You Dr. Black I couldn't be happier with the end results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 06, 2019

Finally - I’ve been unhappy with my body for so many years, but when I entered my fifties things really took a turn for the worse. I’m a wife, mom of 2, grand mom of 3, am 52, 5’1”, 120 pounds and I’m very physically active. I hit the gym 3-5 times per week - mostly cardio - and of course none of that work could fix my low lying breasts or the loose, stretch marked skin on my flabby looking stomach. As we ladies do, there have been conversations between friends about wish lists. You know, if I could have anything done what would it be? Dr. Eileen Summer Black’s name came up quite a few times, as some of my friends had already had their wish lists fulfilled, and Dr. Black seemed to be well loved by all. I decided to go for it. I spoke to my wonderful husband, who by the way, thinks the whole idea of cosmetic surgery is crazy, and he was supportive even if he didn’t get it. My mom agreed to help me out at home while I recovered too. I met with Dr. Black and we made plans to do a breast lift without implants, a tummy tuck with muscle repair, and Lipo. My surgery was scheduled for 12/3. It’s now 12/6 and I’m 3 days out. I showered for the first time yesterday and as it was the first time I’ve taken off my post surgery bra, I finally saw my boobs. Wow, talk about perky! They are sitting high and are still swollen so I’m sure there will he changes in the coming months. I still have surgical tape on my TT incision and the drain is there as well. From what I can see my tummy is very swollen so I’m not making any judgements yet. Dr. Black has been wonderful. She’s checked in with me even though she’s on a family vacation. Seriously - her office is amazing. Everyone there is kind and compassionate. I do want to mention the pain. There has been absolutely no pain from my breast lift. And I’m serious - NONE. Now my stomach is another animal altogether. Yeow!! The pain is real. Luckily Dr. Black uses exparel to numb you up post surgery. It lasted about 48 hours then the fun began. I feel like a big baby. I knew there would be pain, but had no idea what it would feel like. It’s bad. I stopped taking prescription pain meds after the first day and am taking extra strength Tylenol now. As I still haven’t had a BM I just don’t want to make that any worse. I’ll be taking Miralax this morning and I’ll move around a little more today. I’ll post again soon. Also, thanks to all you wonderful ladies who’ve posted your experiences! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 05, 2019

Dr. Black and Dr. Summer were amazing leading up to the day of my surgery. Dr. Black gave me his cell phone number and checked up on me. I am more then happy with my results. If you were looking to have any breast surgery I highly recommend Dr. Black and Dr Summer. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 21, 2019

Excited to See - I'll keep you updated as the results appear, but I can at least review the actual process itself. Black's office is great, wait times are low, they're really nice and very real with what to expect. Dr. Black did a consultation and let me know I would be a great candidate for flank Sculpsure. She specified that Sculpsure works best on thinner women with isolated areas of fat. They were great to talk to and I immediately trusted them and was excited to get rolling, which is unusual for me because I've had a lot of unimpressive consults including for Coolsculpting. Less than a week later I had 2 applicators (or 1/2 a full panel) applied on each hip at the same time. They consulted me repeatedly on where exactly I wanted to be reduced on my hips so they could place appropriately. For me, I just wanted the overhanging "bumps" from my love handles to be reduced so that I didn't have double hips when I wear bodycon dresses. The treatment itself was supposed to be somewhat painful, but I took an Advil beforehand and found it uncomfortable but tolerable. Just when I would start to get close to hurting the machine would cycle back to cool. Afterward, they used a massager to dislodge the fat cells, which was uncomfortable but not painful. I was also told I could return to use this massage machine 3 times in the next couple of weeks for max effect. All told I was in and out in less than an hour and back at work feeling zero lingering pain.For aftercare, I will continue to massage the area and drink water. I will update with before/after photos when I have them, but I don't fully expect results until sometime after my second session 12 weeks from now. Nonetheless, the process was nothing to be upset about so if you're worried about pain, take a couple of Advil before like I did! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 10, 2019

My experience with Dr. Black and the whole staff was by far the best!! Between the care, concern, & understanding then to top it off my outcome of my surgery I was very pleased and would highly recommend to use Dr. Black to my family & friends. I can't thank Dr. Black & her staff enough for all they did for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.O.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 03, 2019

Dr. E. Summer Black is hands down the best plastic surgeon anywhere! I recently had an explant/enbloc with total capsulectomy after having implants 20 years, and I couldn't be happier with my results! Dr. Black is a very friendly, warm, professional and compassionate doctor, who genuinely cares about helping women to feel better. She even gives her own cell number to communicate with you. My surgery was a breeze. I had very thin capsules yet this was easy for Dr. Black to remove. My implants were returned to me and she provided pictures and videos of my surgery. Dr. Black called to check on me following surgery and answered any questions. At my follow up, she said I didn't even need a lift. She is very honest and not out to make money if a procedure is not necessary. I can't say enough nice things about Dr. Black except that if you are looking to have a successful explant the correct way then you must see Dr. Black! She did an amazing job and I am getting better as a result! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 27, 2019

The best experience anybody could possibly hope for. Dr. Black is amazing & my results are the best !! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Excellent communication and professionalism: Dr. Black showed genuine concern and interest in my special case and she made me feel like I was getting the best of her talents and medical care. She was recommended by another very well respected doctor who had all the confidence in the world in Dr. Black. I also greatly appreciated her asking her father to concur with her on my case and he was also there for my surgery. You have no doubt that her excellence runs in the family. Her skills are the best in the industry which means she's definitely no.1 in New Orleans! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 06, 2019

Dr. Summer Black is wonderful. Her calming, encouraging bedside manner eased all my concerns. Dr. Black was patient as she answered all of my questions and Dr. Black was very accessible as she personally followed up with me numerous times after my procedure. I highly recommend Dr. Summer Black! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 04, 2019

I would recommend Dr. Black to anyone. She took her time at each appt, explained things throughly, and made me feel extremely comfortable. Her office staff was always friendly and eager to help when I called. More than satisfied with the outcome of my surgery from start to finish!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 18, 2019

Dr. Summer Black is absolutely amazing for several reasons. Dr. Black answered all my questions during my consult and took as much time as I needed. She also encouraged me to call or text her personally with any additional questions I may have thought of after my initial consult. We thoroughly discussed what my “goals” were for having the En Bloc Total Capsulectomy. She was very honest and matter of fact about what I could expect from having this procedure. She did not try to sell me on having additional procedures, even though I specifically asked if I need to have a lift with this procedure (which clearly would have been more expensive), but she told me she did not think I needed it. I have complete confidence in Dr. Summer Black and her father (prior to the surgery and even more so now on the other side). They operate as a team which makes me even more confident knowing there are two wonderful plastic surgeons operating on me. Dr. Black took videos and pictures explaining what she found during the procedure. She called me the evening of my surgery to check on me and we communicated for the next two weeks every day or every other day regarding my recovery. The personal care you receive from Dr. Black Plastic Surgery is excellent (exceeded all my expectations). The results of my surgery are amazing and exactly what we had discussed. If I decide to have additional plastic surgery in the future I would absolutely return to her, hands down. Dr. Black also offers dermal fillers. She injected my lips to increase the fullness. I experienced minimal pain and the attention from the staff was impeccable and I love my lips. Thanks Dr. Black, you gave me a new lease on life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 17, 2019

Amazing Experience! Highly Recommended! - Dr. Summer Black is absolutely amazing for several reasons. Dr. Black answered all my questions during my consult and took as much time as I needed. She also encouraged me to call or text her personally with any additional questions I may have thought of after my initial consult. We thoroughly discussed what my “goals” were for having the En Bloc Total Capsulectomy. She was very honest and matter of fact about what I could expect from having this procedure. She did not try to sell me on having additional procedures, even though I specifically asked if I need to have a lift with this procedure (which clearly would have been more expensive), but she told me she did not think I needed it. I have complete confidence in Dr. Summer Black and her father (prior to the surgery and even more so now on the other side). They operate as a team which makes me even more confident knowing there are two wonderful plastic surgeons operating on me. Dr. Black took videos and pictures explaining what she found during the procedure. She called me the evening of my surgery to check on me and we communicated for the next two weeks every day or every other day regarding my recovery. The personal care you receive from Dr. Black Plastic Surgery is excellent (exceeded all my expectations). The results of my surgery are amazing and exactly what we had discussed. If I decide to have additional plastic surgery in the future I would absolutely return to her, hands down. Dr. Black also offers dermal fillers. She injected my lips to increase the fullness. I experienced minimal pain and the attention from the staff was impeccable and I love my lips. Thanks Dr. Black, you gave me a new lease on life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 12, 2019

I was tired. I was sick. I was tired of being sick and tired. I had food, alcohol and medicine intolerances. I had unexplainable symptoms, arm pain, rashes, joint pain, hair loss, anxiety and heart palpitations. There were times when I wondered if this was all in my head and if I would ever feel “normal” again. I came across Breast Implant Illness symptoms thanks to a friend and immediately knew in my gut, that was the culprit. I researched qualified surgeons that perform explants and kept coming across Dr. Summer Blacks name. I asked around and knew someone that had an explant and Dr. Black was her surgeon as well so I made a consultation. My personal experience with Dr. Black has been beyond excellent. She is very knowledgeable and compassionate so with little hesitation, I scheduled my explant. I have been in the medical field for over 20 years and you don’t meet many doctors that give you their cell phone number much less answer a text within an hour. The surgery center she operates at, Crescent City Hospital, is phenomenal. The staff is attentive and caring. I woke up from surgery and felt great, my arm pain gone and I could take a deep breath. My scarring is minimal and clean. To say the surgery changed my life sounds cliche BUT it really has changed the quality of my life. I’m so glad I listened to my gut. Thank you Dr. Black. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 22, 2019

Explant. En bloc. Outstanding surgeon! - I researched doctors prior to having my explant as I had been having some issues that were possibly related to my implants not working well with my body and overall health and genetics (namely, several homozygous MTHFR genes). I had a face-to-face consultation with Dr. Black in Metairie on January 7th, and by the end of that meeting I had made up my mind that Dr. Black was the surgeon for me.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 18, 2019

(Translated by Google) Very kind and honest group of people. They were very helpful reminding me of my appointment (I can not forgetful of such things) and very polite.He was upfront about the work and risks and even truthful enough to say that my needs were outside his specialty, but he did research on his own time to give me proper recommendation.The only downside, if any, was that I was startled by how close I had to get to inspect my face. But that is all in my head because we are both standing and I am much taller than the doctor. That and I am unaccustomed to having people with my personal space. That being sad was very friendly, professional, and considerate of my discomfort.Great people. I would not hesitate to go back to him for other proceedings and recommend others.And I'm not paid. I am more than happy to tell someone in person and online to go FOADIAF.Thank you so much Dr. Black and staff.(Original)Very kind and honest group of people. They were very helpful reminding me of my appointment (I can be forgetful of such things) and very polite. He was upfront about the work and risks and even truthful enough to say that my needs were outside of his specialty, but did research on his own time to give me a proper recommendation. The only downside, if any, was that I was startled by how close he had to get to inspect my face. But that is all in my head because we were both standing and I am much taller than the doctor. That and I am unaccustomed to having people with my personal space. That being sad he was very friendly, professional, and considerate of my discomfort. Great people. I would not hesitate to go back to him for other proceedures and recommend others. And no I am not a paid shill. I am more than happy to tell someone in person and online to go FOADIAF. Muita obrigada Doutor Black e pessoal. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 11, 2019

I booked a consultation with Dr. Summer Black after reading her reviews on google. From the very first phone call to them I have been 110% satisfied!!!!!!Dr. Black and her staff are AWESOME. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Dr. Black did and amazing job! I know she is my doctor but I am proud to say that she is a friend. She is just an amazing person! She will answer any questions you may have about this procedure.Now to my procedure:I had an implant removal procedure. She walked me through every step of the way! I have never felt better! My best friend is a nurse and she helped through this procedure also. She told me to please tell Dr. Black that she has been a nurse for over 20 yrs. and she has never met a Dr. as welcoming and helpful as Dr. Black. She was very impressed! If you have any doubts just ask and she will be there for you also.If I could I would give her more than a five star rating because she is just that good. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 22, 2018

Dr. Black is the Best in New Orleans! - Dr. Black was the most understanding, caring doctor! I had removal of my breast implants, and it could not have gone more smoothly! She made the process so easy. She truly made me feel as if she cared personally. Her office staff was outstanding...provided me with rapid replies to questions and very accommodating to my needs. She is the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 14, 2018

Couldn't be more pleased with Dr. Black & her staff & the surgery center!!! Great experience. Highly recommend!!! ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 06, 2018

Best Surgeons Around!!! - Dr. Black is an amazing surgeon with a fabulous bedside manner! He is always willing to spend as much time with you as he needs to for you to feel confident in your decisions. I had breast augmentation done several years ago and was extremely pleased with my results. Unfortunately, I ended up with a ruptured implant and ultimately decided to get them removed. I was very concerned with what... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 04, 2018

Highly Recommend - Dr. Black was down to earth and so easy to talk to. I trusted her and she did a phenomenal job. I would recommend her to anyone. I had been on a few consultations with other doctors and I knew she was the right doctor for me as soon as we met. So glad my friend recommended her. Meet Dr. Black before you schedule surgery with another doctor. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2018

I had a great experience with this office. Dr. Black and staff are completely professional and accommodating. I would recommend this office to everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2018

Dr. Black and her staff are amazing . Very professional and nice to me . I would recoomend her to anyone ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2018

Dr. Black is amazing! Best plastic surgery office in Nola! Free consultations and excellent patient care, what more could you ask for More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 25, 2018

Amazing Experience - I had an amazingly pleasant experience, unusual description fro surgery I know, but Dr. Elliott Black, his staff & the Surgery Center made me so incredibly comfortable in my decision to have Dr. Black as my surgeon that I never had a worry.I live in Las Vegas & interviewed several doctors there then met with Dr. Black when visiting my parents in New Orleans (where I grew up) &... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 18, 2018

Drove from Fairhope AL to come see Dr. Black & could not be more pleased with my experience. Patty was so sweet and accommodating in scheduling my appointment, and Elizabeth was incredibly personable and professional. Dr. Black did an outstanding job listening to me, and I was thrilled with how natural my results were. I will definitely continue to make the drive from AL! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 06, 2018

Dr. Elliot Black performed a face and neck lift on me in April of 2018. I am very happy with my results. Dr. Black explained everything in detail prior to my surgery and followed up with me post op. My results are remarkable, I look the same, but many years younger. I consulted with several other surgeons prior to Dr. Black. I chose Dr. Black, his professionalism was second to none, after viewing his before and after pictures of the surgeries he performed, I found them unmatched. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 22, 2018

I had a wonderful experience. - Dr. Black is simply a wonderful doctor. I wanted a tummy tuck for the past 20 years, but never actually thought I would ever go through with it until I met Dr. Black. Dr. Black and her staff were so calming and reassuring. She simply made all the fears and worries I had about going through with this surgery go away. I could not be more pleased with my results. My incision is flawless, and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 09, 2018

Dr. Black and her staff are very professional and listened to my needs. i would recommend her very highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.1.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Dr. Summer Black is truly amazing. She is caring, experienced, smart and a great doctor. I have had laser, fillers and Botox services by her and was highly pleased with all results. Her staff is equally amazing. A highly trusted older friend recommended me to Dr. Black and I am so glad she did. I now recommend Dr. Summer Black to my good friends with outmost assurance. I can't speak enough of my experience and happiness of finding Dr. Black and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 09, 2018

I won’t go to anyone else - Dr. Black is simply the best! I go to her for Botox and filler. She actually listens to me so that together we come up with a course of action that delivers beautiful results. She never leaves you with an unnatural over-blown look. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 01, 2017

Tummy Tuck - Fluer De Lis Cut - After Massive Weight Loss - I absolutely love Dr. Black! She treats you like a friend more than a patient. She is clearly very skilled. Her work is beautiful. She does not try to get you to do any more surgery than what you absolutely need. I have two other friends that have had their tummy tucks after massive weight loss with Dr. Black and they love her, as well. I highly recommend Dr. Summer Black! She performed my fleur de lis tummy tuck in 2013 and my brachioplasty in 2017. She is an amazing surgeon that does beautiful work. I am thrilled with the placement of my incisions on my arms. What I really love about Dr. Black is that she treats you like a friend and not just a patient. She gave me her cell phone number, in case I had any issues. She personally called to check on me when I was home. She made the experiences as pleasant and painless as possible. I can't say enough about her as a surgeon and a person! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 02, 2017

Dr. Summer Black is truly amazing. She is caring, experienced, smart and a great doctor. I have had laser, fillers and Botox services by her and was highly pleased with all results. Her staff is equally amazing. A highly trusted older friend recommended me to Dr. Black and I am so glad she did. I now recommend Dr. Summer Black to my good friends with outmost assurance. I can't speak enough of my experience and happiness of finding Dr. Black and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2017

Best Dr. by far! - Dr. Black performed a tummy tuck, a breast lift, and a small amount of lipo. I could not be any happier, I am actually glowing these days!!! She is AMAZING from start to finish. I felt more like I was being taken care of by family than just a doctor, from the day of my consultation until my check ups. Her and the entire care staff are just incredible people. This alone would make me... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2017

Best Dr. by far! - Dr. Black performed a tummy tuck, a breast lift, and a small amount of lipo. I could not be any happier, I am actually glowing these days!!! She is AMAZING from start to finish. I felt more like I was being taken care of by family than just a doctor, from the day of my consultation until my check ups. Her and the entire care staff are just incredible people. This alone would make me... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 23, 2017

I had the best experience - Dr. Black was very welcoming and approachable. She answered all my questions beforehand and made sure I was comfortable and understood my procedures. She went above and beyond my expectations and I would highly recommend her for any cosmetic procedure! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 15, 2017

Amazing experience - Dr. Summer Black performed implant removal and lift on me(47). Initially I was going to get new implants. After meeting with Dr. Black a few times we discussed not putting new implants in. I was very nervous and was unsure how I would look. Would I be left with sagging /unattractive breasts. She was very intuned to my concerns. Now 5 months later I couldn't be happier!!! I would highly... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 10, 2017

Dr. Black is professional, knowledgeable and so caring. I could not ask for anything more. Also, her staff is amazing. Everyone in the office is fabulous. I have gotten Botox and IPL laser and loved the results. I feel so safe and confident that I'm in good hands. I would and have recommend Dr. Black highly. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.