Dr. Elliott B. Black, III

Dr. Summer Black

Board-Certified Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeons

Questions? 504-603-3600

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Metairie, LA Plastic and Cosmetic Surgeon Dr. Elliott B. Black, III Tummy Tuck Procedures

Our practice has grown because of our patients' kind referrals and reviews. In this section of the website, we have combined all our reviews in one place for you to read through at your own pace. Our board-certified plastic surgeons, Dr. Elliott and Dr. Summer Black have provided our community with many years of service, and have performed a wide variety of cosmetic surgeries and treatments for the face (facelift, rhinoplasty, BOTOX®, eyelid lift), body (tummy tuck, liposuction, body contouring surgeries), and breast (augmentation, implant revision, breast lift, and breast reductions). The team at Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery was selected for their concern for efficiency and a warm, dedicated attitude. We hope you agree. Many of our current and former patients share their personal stories and plastic surgery journey in this review section of our website.

We always have time to care for a new patient. Learn more about Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery today.

Filter22 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 03, 2020

Mini TT, Breast Lift, Lipo for Fat Transfer and Mons Lift - My procedure was performed by Dr. Elliot Black, He is straight to the point and blunt. I love his honesty and felt extremely comfortable with him as my surgeon. I had originally wanted Breast Implants but Dr. Elliot explained the risks of implants vs using my own body fat to enhance my breasts. He even gives you his personal cell phone number and encourages you to call whenever you feel the need. He answers promptly and is very down easy to talk to. I had scheduled other consults with 2 other doctors. I saw Dr. Elliot first and cancelled the other 2. I decided that I wanted Dr. Black as my PS after our initial consultation. No need to look further! I also adore his daughter Dr. Summer and had originally requested her , but Patti explained that Dr. Elliot would be the one for me. I didn't ask why. I met Dr. Summer on my consult and she added her opinion and suggestions. It was very nice having the two together. They make a great team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 06, 2019

Finally - I’ve been unhappy with my body for so many years, but when I entered my fifties things really took a turn for the worse. I’m a wife, mom of 2, grand mom of 3, am 52, 5’1”, 120 pounds and I’m very physically active. I hit the gym 3-5 times per week - mostly cardio - and of course none of that work could fix my low lying breasts or the loose, stretch marked skin on my flabby looking stomach. As we ladies do, there have been conversations between friends about wish lists. You know, if I could have anything done what would it be? Dr. Eileen Summer Black’s name came up quite a few times, as some of my friends had already had their wish lists fulfilled, and Dr. Black seemed to be well loved by all. I decided to go for it. I spoke to my wonderful husband, who by the way, thinks the whole idea of cosmetic surgery is crazy, and he was supportive even if he didn’t get it. My mom agreed to help me out at home while I recovered too. I met with Dr. Black and we made plans to do a breast lift without implants, a tummy tuck with muscle repair, and Lipo. My surgery was scheduled for 12/3. It’s now 12/6 and I’m 3 days out. I showered for the first time yesterday and as it was the first time I’ve taken off my post surgery bra, I finally saw my boobs. Wow, talk about perky! They are sitting high and are still swollen so I’m sure there will he changes in the coming months. I still have surgical tape on my TT incision and the drain is there as well. From what I can see my tummy is very swollen so I’m not making any judgements yet. Dr. Black has been wonderful. She’s checked in with me even though she’s on a family vacation. Seriously - her office is amazing. Everyone there is kind and compassionate. I do want to mention the pain. There has been absolutely no pain from my breast lift. And I’m serious - NONE. Now my stomach is another animal altogether. Yeow!! The pain is real. Luckily Dr. Black uses exparel to numb you up post surgery. It lasted about 48 hours then the fun began. I feel like a big baby. I knew there would be pain, but had no idea what it would feel like. It’s bad. I stopped taking prescription pain meds after the first day and am taking extra strength Tylenol now. As I still haven’t had a BM I just don’t want to make that any worse. I’ll be taking Miralax this morning and I’ll move around a little more today. I’ll post again soon. Also, thanks to all you wonderful ladies who’ve posted your experiences! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 18, 2019

Dr. Eileen Summer Black is such a rare Dr. in this world. She is incredibly skilled, always available (on a personal level as well), patience and answers every question, goes beyond her duties to help you and give you information, she is so sweet and caring. My experience was made by her to be so easy and painless. She is an amazing Dr. Just wish I had found her a long time ago! I am so happy and pleased with the entire staff in the office as well, everyone should get more than 5 stars....They are all superstars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 28, 2019

I was more than impressed with Dr. Summer Black and her staff. I would HIGHLY suggest her to anyone! She makes you feel very comfortable, and her confidence & knowledge in what she is doing gives you a sense of calmness and reassuring feeling that you picked the right surgeon! My results came out perfect, and I couldn’t have picked a better Plastic Surgeon! Call her today!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 15, 2019

I was more than impressed with Dr. Summer Black and her staff. I would HIGHLY suggest her to anyone! She makes you feel very comfortable, and her confidence & knowledge in what she is doing gives you a sense of calmness and reassuring feeling that you picked the right surgeon! My results came out perfect, and I couldn’t have picked a better Plastic Surgeon! Call her today!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 06, 2019

Dr. Summer Black was compassionate, caring, and accessible. My surgery was a success and her calming and encouraging bedside manner took aware any fears I had. She took her time answering any questions I had and followed up with me numerous times after my procedure. I would highly recommend Dr. Black. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 09, 2019

Facelift and more! - In 2003, I had gastric bypass surgery. I lost about 100 pounds. Gravity has taken it’s toll over the last few years. From extensive research and recommendations from a dear and trusted friend, I went to the Drs.Black to perform my facelift. I CANNOT say enough good things about Dr. Elliott and Dr. Summer or their staff ( Patty and Wade)! I don’t look like I’ve been caught in a wind tunne... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2019

Dr. Summer Black has provided me the highest level of care during any and all procedures. Summer is honest and candid giving her patients knowledge and guidance. She is there for you whenever you may a question or concern. She is an excellent surgeon and cosmetic doctor. I have recommended Dr. Summer Black to my family and friends, and they absolutely love her. The staff is friendly and provides the privacy you may be looking for. I have even had appointments with Dr. Elliot Black and he is equally excellent, of course he is ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 14, 2018

Couldn't be more pleased with Dr. Black & her staff & the surgery center!!! Great experience. Highly recommend!!! ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 14, 2018

I had a great experience!! - I had a great experience with Dr Black & the entire staff, I really appreciate the time and the honesty to explain everything. I really recommend her & I’ll be back to her for any other treatments. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 31, 2018

When I first went for my consult with Dr. Summer Black, I immediately knew she would be my surgeon. Her interaction immediately put me at ease in exhibiting my body and gave me confidence in my decision to have a tummy tuck (age 64). Her care was diligent, including an overnight stay at the surgery center and access to her cell number. She called me post surgery and maintained regular check ups until discharged. Her staff is professional and caring as well. I highly recommend Dr. Black! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2018

Dr. Black and her staff are amazing . Very professional and nice to me . I would recoomend her to anyone ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 22, 2018

I had a wonderful experience. - Dr. Black is simply a wonderful doctor. I wanted a tummy tuck for the past 20 years, but never actually thought I would ever go through with it until I met Dr. Black. Dr. Black and her staff were so calming and reassuring. She simply made all the fears and worries I had about going through with this surgery go away. I could not be more pleased with my results. My incision is flawless, and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 01, 2017

Tummy Tuck - Fluer De Lis Cut - After Massive Weight Loss - I absolutely love Dr. Black! She treats you like a friend more than a patient. She is clearly very skilled. Her work is beautiful. She does not try to get you to do any more surgery than what you absolutely need. I have two other friends that have had their tummy tucks after massive weight loss with Dr. Black and they love her, as well. I highly recommend Dr. Summer Black! She performed my fleur de lis tummy tuck in 2013 and my brachioplasty in 2017. She is an amazing surgeon that does beautiful work. I am thrilled with the placement of my incisions on my arms. What I really love about Dr. Black is that she treats you like a friend and not just a patient. She gave me her cell phone number, in case I had any issues. She personally called to check on me when I was home. She made the experiences as pleasant and painless as possible. I can't say enough about her as a surgeon and a person! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2017

Best Dr. by far! - Dr. Black performed a tummy tuck, a breast lift, and a small amount of lipo. I could not be any happier, I am actually glowing these days!!! She is AMAZING from start to finish. I felt more like I was being taken care of by family than just a doctor, from the day of my consultation until my check ups. Her and the entire care staff are just incredible people. This alone would make me... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 13, 2017

Best Dr. by far! - Dr. Black performed a tummy tuck, a breast lift, and a small amount of lipo. I could not be any happier, I am actually glowing these days!!! She is AMAZING from start to finish. I felt more like I was being taken care of by family than just a doctor, from the day of my consultation until my check ups. Her and the entire care staff are just incredible people. This alone would make me... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 23, 2017

I had the best experience - Dr. Black was very welcoming and approachable. She answered all my questions beforehand and made sure I was comfortable and understood my procedures. She went above and beyond my expectations and I would highly recommend her for any cosmetic procedure! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2017

Compassionate Doctor - Metairie, LA - Dr. Elliott Black and Dr. Summer Black both performed an abdominoplasty (tummy tuck) on me on May 19, 2016. It was a very necessary procedure for me after losing over 200 pounds thanks to gastric sleeve weight loss surgery. By both doctors "tag teaming" and performing my surgery together, I only spent 4 hours under anesthesia instead of eight. The results were amazing. I truly did not think my abdomen could ever be so flat and tight. The recovery was daunting and I had some setbacks, but both doctors were always there if I needed them, even going so far as to give me their personal cell phone numbers. I would highly recommend either of the doctors to any of my family or friends. In fact, I now carry around Dr. Elliott's business cards in my purse in case anyone wants a referral. I will actually be going back this year to have a thigh tuck done as well. I am confident that the results will be just as great as my tummy tuck. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-14
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 12, 2017

Blessed to have found them! - Had my tummy tuck scar revision and lipo with Dr. Summer Black and her father and they both are very attentive to details. I recovered with no problems and actually got on a cruise boat for 7 days literally day 2 post surgery! Great bedside manners and Would meet me after hours if I had any concerns ie my stitches needs removal. Would recommend to everyone who seeks a caring, professional,... - - Had my tummy tuck scar revision and lipo with Dr. Summer Black and her father and they both are very attentive to details. I recovered with no problems and actually got on a cruise boat for 7 days literally day 2 post surgery! Great bedside manners and Would meet me after hours if I had any concerns ie my stitches needs removal. Would recommend to everyone who seeks a caring, professional, and reassuring doctors. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 25, 2013

One month post op for mommy makeover - I just adore and respect Dr. Black. She has been so caring, compassionate and an honest doctor. She explained everything to me and let me know what my expectations should be once she looked at me and saw what she had to work with. Makes the procedure a lot easier when you have no hesitation in the selection of your plastic surgeon! - - Went to my three consults and the first doctor I went to and really liked states I will need an incision from hip to hip and a POSSIBLE vertical one from belly button to pubic bone since I have some jiggle horizontally. The other two surgeons said no vertical. Looking at my pic do you think I should question the experience of the doc that wants to do the vertical incision? More

Patient Story
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from W.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 22, 2013

Mini Tummy Tuck. - Metairie, LA - So far she is wonderful, a very straight forward doctor that is honest and not just trying to sell you procedures you do not need. - - Like everyone else, I've obsessed over this site for months, reading and reading and reading. I initially decided on a BA and mini tummy tuck, but am only doing the mini for now. I have paid my $6,550 + $200 (pain pump)=$6,750 to Dr. Summer Black in Metairie, LA. I am 32 yo, 5'1 and 103 lbs. After my first and only child at 19 yo who was 8 lbs, 21 in. (I was only 98 lbs when I got pregnant), the elasticity in my stomach never returned. I was horribly blessed with the stretch marks above my naval, which pools or gathers to the center of my stomach. The PS does not plan on giving me a new naval, but is going to disconnet and reposition mine. I am only having skin done due to having plently of abdominal muscle and it is speculated that there is minimal fat, but I might just ask her to lipo anyways just in case. I am also having her lipo the fat deposits on my hips above my buttocks. I exercise frequently, but have never been able to get rid of that fat. I have bought Arnica Montana and Bellis Perennis to start taking after surgery, I'm not sure if any of that will help, but it cost next to nothing so why not try it. I also bought Graphites, which is supposed to heal scar tissue, mainly external. I do not plan on taking that until the stitches fall out or are removed. I have scheduled two weeks off from work, hoping that will be sufficient. I will post before pics soon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Nov 19, 2011

tummy tuck - very good surgery, had twins at my 2nd c section was in bad need of tummy tuck. Dr. Elliot did an excellent job-I am going back to him regarding some minor facial improvements soon. Recommend Dr. Black and his staff More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.