Dr. Elliott B. Black, III

Dr. Summer Black

Board-Certified Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeons

Questions? 504-603-3600

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Metairie, LA Plastic and Cosmetic Surgeon Dr. Elliott B. Black, III Breast Implant Removal Procedures

Our practice has grown because of our patients' kind referrals and reviews. In this section of the website, we have combined all our reviews in one place for you to read through at your own pace. Our board-certified plastic surgeons, Dr. Elliott and Dr. Summer Black have provided our community with many years of service, and have performed a wide variety of cosmetic surgeries and treatments for the face (facelift, rhinoplasty, BOTOX®, eyelid lift), body (tummy tuck, liposuction, body contouring surgeries), and breast (augmentation, implant revision, breast lift, and breast reductions). The team at Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery was selected for their concern for efficiency and a warm, dedicated attitude. We hope you agree. Many of our current and former patients share their personal stories and plastic surgery journey in this review section of our website.

We always have time to care for a new patient. Learn more about Dr. Black Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery today.

Filter34 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 14, 2020

I can not say enough about the ‘family feeling’ you will receive from Dr. Black and her staff. I was referred to her from a friend, and I am here to tell you that you will not be disappointed in the knowledge of this clinic. Dr. Black made me feel like a friend from day one, from her free consultation all the way through surgery. I had breast implants removed and she was so humble, genuine and caring every single step of the way. She listened to every question or concern I had and always had the comforting answer I needed. The staff at the surgery center was amazing too. I mean truly like family taking care of me. All of my follow up visits have been genuinely caring about my well being. AND SHE GIVES YOU HER CELL NUMBER on day 1 of the free consultation. What doctor does that? Truly amazing. I cannot day enough great things. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2020

I can not say enough about the ‘family feeling’ you will receive from Dr. Black and her staff. I was referred to her from a friend, and I am here to tell you that you will not be disappointed in the knowledge of this clinic. Dr. Black made me feel like a friend from day one, from her free consultation all the way through surgery. I had breast implants removed and she was so humble, genuine and caring every single step of the way. She listened to every question or concern I had and always had the comforting answer I needed. The staff at the surgery center was amazing too. I mean truly like family taking care of me. All of my follow up visits have been genuinely caring about my well being. AND SHE GIVES YOU HER CELL NUMBER on day 1 of the free consultation. What doctor does that? Truly amazing. I cannot day enough great things. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

I am amazed at the personal attention and detail given by Dr. Black and the entire staff! It made the whole process of surgery tolerable. I felt extremely comfortable with Dr. Summer and was so very please with the result! Thank you to you and your office! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 28, 2019

Dr. Eileen Summer Black is such a rare Dr. in this world. She is incredibly skilled, always available (on a personal level as well), patience and answers every question, goes beyond her duties to help you and give you information, she is so sweet and caring. My experience was made by her to be so easy and painless. She is an amazing Dr. Just wish I had found her a long time ago! I am so happy and pleased with the entire staff in the office as well, everyone should get more than 5 stars....They are all superstars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 01, 2019

I had my implants removed by Dr. Summer Black. She was excellent! She has such a calm, kind bedside manner. I had a lot of stress about the procedure and she, along with her office staff, were just wonderful! I highly recommend her! She was very easy to communicate with and I never worried. My postoperative time went very smoothly. Cannot speak highly enough about Dr. Black. She is simply the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 20, 2019

Dr. Summer Black provided me with excellent service from the very first phone call to her office. I live in another state and was visiting the New Orleans area and called for an appointment. I was worked in the very same day for a consultation with no wait. Dr Black is very compassionate, caring, and friendly. She is very informative and her skills are “over the top”. I scheduled my surgery within days of my visit and the outcome was amazing. She personally called to check in with me and give me “tips” about my recovery (even on a Sunday morning as I was heading to the Saints game) GO SAINTS. The best decision I have ever made was to have her do my surgery. It was worth the travel time for me. The front office is very professional and friendly. Thank you, Patty. The surgery center, Crescent City Surgical Centre, was amazing and very friendly. I would highly recommend Dr. Summer Black and her entire staff. Thank you for taking good care of me!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 19, 2019

Dr. Summer Black provided me with excellent service from the very first phone call to her office. I live in another state and was visiting the New Orleans area and called for an appointment. I was worked in the very same day for a consultation with no wait. Dr Black is very compassionate, caring, and friendly. She is very informative and her skills are “over the top”. I scheduled my surgery within days of my visit and the outcome was amazing. She personally called to check in with me and give me “tips” about my recovery (even on a Sunday morning as I was heading to the Saints game) GO SAINTS. The best decision I have ever made was to have her do my surgery. It was worth the travel time for me. The front office is very professional and friendly. Thank you, Patty. The surgery center, Crescent City Surgical Centre, was amazing and very friendly. I would highly recommend Dr. Summer Black. Thank you for taking good care of me!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 19, 2019

Dr. Summer Black provided me with excellent service from the very first phone call to her office. I live in another state and was visiting the New Orleans area and called for an appointment. I was worked in the very same day for a consultation with no wait. Dr Black is very compassionate, caring, and friendly. She is very informative and her skills are “over the top”. I scheduled my surgery within days of my visit and the outcome was amazing. She personally called to check in with me and give me “tips” about my recovery (even on a Sunday morning as I was heading to the Saints game) GO SAINTS. The best decision I have ever made was to have her do my surgery. It was worth the travel time for me. The front office is very professional and friendly. Thank you, Patty. The surgery center, Crescent City Surgical Centre, was amazing and very friendly. I would highly recommend Dr. Summer Black. Thank you for taking good care of me!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 10, 2019

My experience with Dr. Black and the whole staff was by far the best!! Between the care, concern, & understanding then to top it off my outcome of my surgery I was very pleased and would highly recommend to use Dr. Black to my family & friends. I can't thank Dr. Black & her staff enough for all they did for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.O.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 03, 2019

Dr. E. Summer Black is hands down the best plastic surgeon anywhere! I recently had an explant/enbloc with total capsulectomy after having implants 20 years, and I couldn't be happier with my results! Dr. Black is a very friendly, warm, professional and compassionate doctor, who genuinely cares about helping women to feel better. She even gives her own cell number to communicate with you. My surgery was a breeze. I had very thin capsules yet this was easy for Dr. Black to remove. My implants were returned to me and she provided pictures and videos of my surgery. Dr. Black called to check on me following surgery and answered any questions. At my follow up, she said I didn't even need a lift. She is very honest and not out to make money if a procedure is not necessary. I can't say enough nice things about Dr. Black except that if you are looking to have a successful explant the correct way then you must see Dr. Black! She did an amazing job and I am getting better as a result! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Excellent communication and professionalism: Dr. Black showed genuine concern and interest in my special case and she made me feel like I was getting the best of her talents and medical care. She was recommended by another very well respected doctor who had all the confidence in the world in Dr. Black. I also greatly appreciated her asking her father to concur with her on my case and he was also there for my surgery. You have no doubt that her excellence runs in the family. Her skills are the best in the industry which means she's definitely no.1 in New Orleans! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 06, 2019

Dr. Summer Black is wonderful. Her calming, encouraging bedside manner eased all my concerns. Dr. Black was patient as she answered all of my questions and Dr. Black was very accessible as she personally followed up with me numerous times after my procedure. I highly recommend Dr. Summer Black! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 06, 2019

Dr. Summer Black was compassionate, caring, and accessible. My surgery was a success and her calming and encouraging bedside manner took aware any fears I had. She took her time answering any questions I had and followed up with me numerous times after my procedure. I would highly recommend Dr. Black. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 04, 2019

I would recommend Dr. Black to anyone. She took her time at each appt, explained things throughly, and made me feel extremely comfortable. Her office staff was always friendly and eager to help when I called. More than satisfied with the outcome of my surgery from start to finish!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 18, 2019

Dr. Summer Black is absolutely amazing for several reasons. Dr. Black answered all my questions during my consult and took as much time as I needed. She also encouraged me to call or text her personally with any additional questions I may have thought of after my initial consult. We thoroughly discussed what my “goals” were for having the En Bloc Total Capsulectomy. She was very honest and matter of fact about what I could expect from having this procedure. She did not try to sell me on having additional procedures, even though I specifically asked if I need to have a lift with this procedure (which clearly would have been more expensive), but she told me she did not think I needed it. I have complete confidence in Dr. Summer Black and her father (prior to the surgery and even more so now on the other side). They operate as a team which makes me even more confident knowing there are two wonderful plastic surgeons operating on me. Dr. Black took videos and pictures explaining what she found during the procedure. She called me the evening of my surgery to check on me and we communicated for the next two weeks every day or every other day regarding my recovery. The personal care you receive from Dr. Black Plastic Surgery is excellent (exceeded all my expectations). The results of my surgery are amazing and exactly what we had discussed. If I decide to have additional plastic surgery in the future I would absolutely return to her, hands down. Dr. Black also offers dermal fillers. She injected my lips to increase the fullness. I experienced minimal pain and the attention from the staff was impeccable and I love my lips. Thanks Dr. Black, you gave me a new lease on life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 17, 2019

Amazing Experience! Highly Recommended! - Dr. Summer Black is absolutely amazing for several reasons. Dr. Black answered all my questions during my consult and took as much time as I needed. She also encouraged me to call or text her personally with any additional questions I may have thought of after my initial consult. We thoroughly discussed what my “goals” were for having the En Bloc Total Capsulectomy. She was very honest and matter of fact about what I could expect from having this procedure. She did not try to sell me on having additional procedures, even though I specifically asked if I need to have a lift with this procedure (which clearly would have been more expensive), but she told me she did not think I needed it. I have complete confidence in Dr. Summer Black and her father (prior to the surgery and even more so now on the other side). They operate as a team which makes me even more confident knowing there are two wonderful plastic surgeons operating on me. Dr. Black took videos and pictures explaining what she found during the procedure. She called me the evening of my surgery to check on me and we communicated for the next two weeks every day or every other day regarding my recovery. The personal care you receive from Dr. Black Plastic Surgery is excellent (exceeded all my expectations). The results of my surgery are amazing and exactly what we had discussed. If I decide to have additional plastic surgery in the future I would absolutely return to her, hands down. Dr. Black also offers dermal fillers. She injected my lips to increase the fullness. I experienced minimal pain and the attention from the staff was impeccable and I love my lips. Thanks Dr. Black, you gave me a new lease on life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2019

Dr. Summer Black, Dr. Elliot Black, and their team are amazing! They truly care about their patients. Dr. S. Black gave me her honest opinion about the cosmetic procedure I wanted and told me she didn't even think I needed the surgery. This practice does not try to milk money out of their patients like other places. I love her honest opinion, and I also love my results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 12, 2019

I was tired. I was sick. I was tired of being sick and tired. I had food, alcohol and medicine intolerances. I had unexplainable symptoms, arm pain, rashes, joint pain, hair loss, anxiety and heart palpitations. There were times when I wondered if this was all in my head and if I would ever feel “normal” again. I came across Breast Implant Illness symptoms thanks to a friend and immediately knew in my gut, that was the culprit. I researched qualified surgeons that perform explants and kept coming across Dr. Summer Blacks name. I asked around and knew someone that had an explant and Dr. Black was her surgeon as well so I made a consultation. My personal experience with Dr. Black has been beyond excellent. She is very knowledgeable and compassionate so with little hesitation, I scheduled my explant. I have been in the medical field for over 20 years and you don’t meet many doctors that give you their cell phone number much less answer a text within an hour. The surgery center she operates at, Crescent City Hospital, is phenomenal. The staff is attentive and caring. I woke up from surgery and felt great, my arm pain gone and I could take a deep breath. My scarring is minimal and clean. To say the surgery changed my life sounds cliche BUT it really has changed the quality of my life. I’m so glad I listened to my gut. Thank you Dr. Black. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

I booked a consultation with Dr. Summer Black after reading her reviews on google. From the very first phone call to them I have been 110% satisfied!!!!!! Dr. Black and her staff are AWESOME. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Dr. Black did and amazing job! I know she is my doctor but I am proud to say that she is a friend. She is just an amazing person! She will answer any questions you may have about this procedure. Now to my procedure: I had an implant removal procedure. She walked me through every step of the way! I have never felt better! My best friend is a nurse and she helped through this procedure also. She told me to please tell Dr. Black that she has been a nurse for over 20 yrs. and she has never met a Dr. as welcoming and helpful as Dr. Black. She was very impressed! If you have any doubts just ask and she will be there for you also. If I could I would give her more than a five star rating because she is just that good. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2019

I am so very pleased with Dr. Summer Black. She is very professional, office & hospital staff were great. Overnight stay at the surgical center was comfortable & just what I needed before traveling back home after surgery. She is precise with her work, I have very little scarring. She is also down to earth, companionate & understanding of my specific needs. Have already recommended her to others, love her! #explant#totalcapsulectomy More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 22, 2019

Explant. En bloc. Outstanding surgeon! - I researched doctors prior to having my explant as I had been having some issues that were possibly related to my implants not working well with my body and overall health and genetics (namely, several homozygous MTHFR genes). I had a face-to-face consultation with Dr. Black in Metairie on January 7th, and by the end of that meeting I had made up my mind that Dr. Black was the surgeon for me.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 06, 2018

Best Medical Care I Have Ever Received - Dr. Summer Black is simply wonderful. She is professional yet caring and personal. She made me feel like I was her only patient and my care and outcome from surgery was personal to her and of utmost importance to her. I trust her completely. Her surgical skills for my explant were perfect. She provided the care I was seeking and also treated my emotions and psychological needs with compassion... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 22, 2018

Dr. Black is the Best in New Orleans! - Dr. Black was the most understanding, caring doctor! I had removal of my breast implants, and it could not have gone more smoothly! She made the process so easy. She truly made me feel as if she cared personally. Her office staff was outstanding...provided me with rapid replies to questions and very accommodating to my needs. She is the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 13, 2018

Highly recommend!!! Couldn’t be more pleased with Dr. Black, her staff & the surgery center!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 16, 2018

Wonderful Experience! - I highly recommend Dr. Black! She has compassion and a great bedside manner. She listens to all of your concerns, worries. I felt that I was in highly capable hands with her and a great deal of trust! Thank you so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 25, 2018

Amazing Experience - I had an amazingly pleasant experience, unusual description fro surgery I know, but Dr. Elliott Black, his staff & the Surgery Center made me so incredibly comfortable in my decision to have Dr. Black as my surgeon that I never had a worry.I live in Las Vegas & interviewed several doctors there then met with Dr. Black when visiting my parents in New Orleans (where I grew up) &... More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from Z.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 31, 2018

BEST Plastic Surgeon EVER! - I could not pass up this opportunity without leaving a review concerning my experience with Dr Summer Black PS, her father Dr Elliot Black and their entire staff. I had breast explant surgery via en bloc procedure a few weeks ago. Dr Black is by far the most compassionate Dr I have ever meet. From the time I walked into her office the entire staff is very welcoming and helpful. Dr Black... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 22, 2018

Love Dr Summer Black. I had an excellent experience. Very happy with my results. Would recommend Dr Black to all my family and friends!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.1.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 29, 2017

Dr. Summer Black is truly amazing. She is caring, experienced, smart and a great doctor. I have had laser, fillers and Botox services by her and was highly pleased with all results. Her staff is equally amazing. A highly trusted older friend recommended me to Dr. Black and I am so glad she did. I now recommend Dr. Summer Black to my good friends with outmost assurance. I can't speak enough of my experience and happiness of finding Dr. Black and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 14, 2017

61 Year Old with Breast Implants Since 1994 - Metairie, LA - Dr. Summer Black is wonderful. Very kind, very caring. Spent time explaining the procedure and I actually made another appointment because I still had some questions/concerns. I was not rushed, she was very patient and answered all my questions. I have seen her twice now after my surgery and we are both happy with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 14, 2017

61 Year Old with Breast Implants Since 1994 - Metairie, LA - Dr. Summer Black is wonderful. Very kind, very caring. Spent time explaining the procedure and I actually made another appointment because I still had some questions/concerns. I was not rushed, she was very patient and answered all my questions. I have seen her twice now after my surgery and we are both happy with the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 15, 2017

Amazing experience - Dr. Summer Black performed implant removal and lift on me(47). Initially I was going to get new implants. After meeting with Dr. Black a few times we discussed not putting new implants in. I was very nervous and was unsure how I would look. Would I be left with sagging /unattractive breasts. She was very intuned to my concerns. Now 5 months later I couldn't be happier!!! I would highly... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 15, 2017

Amazing experience - Dr. Summer Black performed implant removal and lift on me(47). Initially I was going to get new implants. After meeting with Dr. Black a few times we discussed not putting new implants in. I was very nervous and was unsure how I would look. Would I be left with sagging /unattractive breasts. She was very intuned to my concerns. Now 5 months later I couldn't be happier!!! I would highly... More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-03-07
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 06, 2017

I had an amazing experience with my breast implant removal!! - Dr. Black was amazing! I am a 60 year old female who had the same breast implants for more than 33 years after the birth of my twins in 1982. My implants had become severely encapsulated (extremely hard and disfigured from scar tissue). They were extremely heavy and causing me a lot of pain. I was sent to Dr. Black by my OB/GYN, who advised the implants needed to be removed due to... - - Dr. Black was amazing! I am a 60 year old female who had the same breast implants for more than 33 years after the birth of my twins in 1982. My implants had become severely encapsulated (extremely hard and disfigured from scar tissue). They were extremely heavy and causing me a lot of pain. I was sent to Dr. Black by my OB/GYN, who advised the implants needed to be removed due to encapsulation/calcification. I had wanted to remove them for a long time, but after they became severely encapsulated, I had no choice. It was the best thing I ever did!!! Dr. Black was extremely meticulous and thorough in her removal of my implants. She advised that I could have a breast lift afterwards to improve the sagging if I wanted, but suggested that I wait 6 months to a year in order to let my breasts revive as much as they could on their own. I didn't think they would revive at all after 33 years, but she was correct. They have revived enough to where I don't look disfigured. My only personal issue remaining is that they are sagging somewhat (which, let's face it, is to be expected in any 60 year old female), but I'm not sure it's enough to make me undergo the breast lift or not. However, it has only been 4 months since my breast explantation. I cannot express how much better I feel. I no longer have any heaviness pulling on my breasts nor am I an in pain. It feels amazing to feel so natural again after 33 years. I learned about the breast explantation fund still available to assist with medical expenses for the removal of breast implants for up to $5,000.00. It has several qualifications that absolutely must be met prior to their approval and rendering any medical funds toward the explantation, but I qualified and received the full $5,000.00 financial assistance, which is only paid directly to the physician. If you are in a situation similar to mine, I highly recommend you look into the fund and strongly urge you to go to Dr. Black for the surgical procedure. I have had absolutely no complications whatsoever and my treatment and healing went exactly as she advised me it would. She was extremely conscientious towards my medical needs and more than willing to assist in any way possible. She saw me on my lunch hours so I would not have to miss work for her visits and immediately responded to every question I had. She continued to call after my surgery to check on me and I have only a very tiny incision under my breast where it cannot be seen. Dr. Black is awesome and I highly recommend her to anyone. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.